DAW – digital audio workstation

so now I understand what VST and VSTI/midi are i checked and Adobe Audition has VST plug ins but they are only effects not instrument and I’m pretty sure the audio effects can not be mapped to midi. So now it is not a question of whether or not I should learn a new DAW it is a question of which one.

It was good to watch mitch the other day and hear about his story coming into producing electronic music. surprised he was using cubase. i should have been taking notes. he was talking about the different VST plug ins in different programs. of course Premier Pro is the top dog. I was surprised he said that abelton is low quality, I’m not sure in what way.

reading this article about the history of the different programs uses and popularity… makes sense why mitch was using cubase as his teacher was in the 90s making music

“There was a period when I beta tested Logic for Emagic and they would send me updates first before releasing them to the public to go over, and give them my feedback. I would try and make it break by pushing it as hard as I could, tell them the results of the tests and also tell them if I thought any of the new features were useful. In 2001, Apple bought Logic from Emagic so that all stopped and I guess they have guys in white coats beta testing full time. You can tell this because of some of the stupid features they come out with, like the comp tool and the loop end tool to name but a few….

Also, in the last 5 years, Cubase has massively improved, particularly its audio. A friend of mine was showing me the way Cubase deals with the audio in a completely unique way just as Pro Tools’ playlist system is so different. Again in the last 5 years, Pro Tools’ MIDI has upped its game massively, and now there’s not much you can’t do in Pro Tools that you can do in Logic, and I know nothing about Pro Tools 10 which is bound to have further MIDI improvements.”

http://www.garnishmusicproduction.com/which-daw-is-better-logic-pro-tools-ableton-or-cubase/

 

DAW – digital audio workstation

Leave a Reply

