White Noise Production

Going through field recordings I made on a canoe trip over the summer. bits where the mic is resting just below the lip of the canoe and the wind seems to make strange harmonics, the mic held near the interior body of the canoe as we slowly drift through reeds which are scraping the sides of the boat.  I just moved and the first sounds of the new home the strange hums of a house – I recorded the strange hum in the bathroom.

I took small small clips from these recordings and copy and pasted and then merged them into one long clip screen-shot-2016-11-29-at-1-20-07-pm

Above you can see how I split the areas I find interesting through my initial 3-4 times listening to the clip then picked certain sections and dragged them away. from those smaller sections I listen several more times and take a really small segment from which to make a bigger clip out of. You can see the transformation bellow.

screen-shot-2016-11-29-at-1-20-33-pm

Then next step is a series of effects mostly Eq and compressors perhaps some noise reduction

screen-shot-2016-11-21-at-8-21-51-pm

Finally I have larger chunks to play with and begin to listen to them in relation to each other.

screen-shot-2016-11-29-at-1-21-23-pm the same two clips equalized differently

White Noise Production

Leave a comment